Good friends rule

I’m still glowing from the launch of Namaste Life this week. Apart from celebrating the culmination of years of writing and editing work in the form of a paper-back novel, I realized the value of good friends – both old and new – that came out to support my book launch in spite of a stormy Cape Town winter night.

When adult life gets so busy that you get stuck in a work/home/get-your-chores-done-on-the-weekend routine, it’s easy to lose touch with friendships from your former younger-student life. And perhaps you meet these friends, maybe once a year, and promise to keep in touch – and then another year passes by – it’s a sorry state of affairs for your social life! So you can imagine my joy at seeing many friends at my launch – some from university, some from home and many more recent friendships. My heart swelled with gratitude as they braved the rain to listen to me read from my book and answer questions about my writing journey. And to top it off, they bought copies of the book and asked for my signature.

This is all new to me – as you may hear from my gushing heart. I find it strange that I am being asked to do interviews and that my family – especially my dear hubby – are proud of me. Sure, it’s not everyday that you get to write and publish a novel, but I guess that I was so involved in the process that I failed to see the uniqueness of the situation. That is, until I sat in The Book Lounge on launch day and looked into the smiling faces of my friends and family. I was overwhelmed by the love in the room even though I was filled with anxiety at having the conversation with my editor Lauren Smith. She rocked it. I rocked it. And we still feel like we’re on a honeymoon of sorts.

I hope the feeling continues as the love keeps pouring in from friends and family all over the world. Much love to all.

 

“Friends should be like books, few, but hand-selected.” C.J.Langenhoven

“A strong friendship doesn’t need daily conversation, doesn’t always need togetherness, as long as the relationship lives in the heart, true friends will never part.”

“The only way to have a friend is to be one.” Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Leave a Reply

